HMPC members

  • Email
  • Help

The European Medicines Agency (EMA) publishes details of the members and alternates of its Committee on Herbal Medicinal Products (HMPC).

The HMPC consists of:

  • a chair, elected by serving HMPC members;
  • one member and an alternate appointed by each EU Member State;
  • one member and an alternate appointed by Iceland and Norway;
  • up to five co-opted members, chosen among experts nominated by Member States or the Agency and recruited, when necessary, to provide additional expertise in a particular scientific area.

All members and alternates serve on the committee for a renewable three year period.

EMA has adopted a revised procedure for the nomination and appointment of co-opted members in July 2016:

List of members and alternates

The list includes each member's and alternate's:

  • contact details;
  • curriculum vitae;
  • declaration of interests and confidentiality undertaking. For more information on EMA's policy on handling competing interests for committee members, see Handling competing interests.

Jump to section:

Members nominated by the Member States

Co-opted members

Observers

Chair

Name
Marisa Delbò
Affiliation
Agenzia Italiana del Farmaco
Address
Via del Tritone, 181, 00187, Roma, Italy
Tel.
+39 06 59784387
Fax.
+39 06 59784313
Email
m.delbo@aifa.gov.it
Downloads

Vice-chair

Name
Emiel Van Galen
Affiliation
College ter Beoordeling van Geneesmiddelen
Address
Graadt van Roggenweg 500, 3531 AH Utrecht, Netherlands
Tel.
+31 88 2248076
Fax.
+31 88 2248001
Email
e.v.galen@cbg-meb.nl
Downloads

Members nominated by Member States

Austria

Member

Name
Reinhard Länger
Affiliation
BASG - Bundesamt für Sicherheit im Gesundheitswesen
Address
Traisengasse 5, A- 1200 Vienna, Austria
Tel.
+43 50555 36528
Fax.
+43 50555 36509
Email
reinhard.laenger@ages.at
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Astrid Obmann
Affiliation
BASG - Bundesamt für Sicherheit im Gesundheitswesen
Address
Traisengasse 5, A- 1200 Vienna, Austria
Tel.
+43 5 0555 36522
Fax.
+43 5 0555 36679
Email
astrid.obmann@ages.at
Downloads

Belgium

Member

Name
Heidi Neef
Affiliation
Federaal Agentschap voor Geneesmiddelen en Gezondheidsproducten - Agence Fédérale des Médicaments et des Produits de Santé
Address
EUROSTATION gebouw, blok 2, Victor Hortaplein 40 / 40, Bâtiment EUROSTATION, bloc 2, place Victor Horta, 40/ 40, B-1060 Brussel - Bruxelles, Belgium
Tel.
+32 2 5284218
Fax.
+32 2 5248136
Email
Heidi.Neef@fagg.be
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Wim Huygh
Affiliation
Federaal Agentschap voor Geneesmiddelen en Gezondheidsproducten - Agence Fédérale des Médicaments et des Produits de Santé
Address
Eurostation Blok 2, Victor Horta plein, 40 bus 40, 1060 Brussels, Belgium
Tel.
+32 2528 4433
Email
wim.huygh@fagg.be
Downloads

Bulgaria

Member

Name
Elena Mustakerova
Affiliation
ИЗПЪЛНИТЕЛНА АГЕНЦИЯ ПО ЛЕКАРСТВАТА
Address
8, Damyan Gruev str., 1303 Sofia, Bulgaria
Tel.
+3592 8 903488
Fax.
+3592 9 434487
Email
elena.mustakerova@bda.bg
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Iliana Ionkova
Affiliation
Medical University Sofia
Address
2 Dunav str., 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria
Tel.
+359 2 9236585
Fax.
+359 2 9879874
Email
ionkova@pharmfac.nat.bg
Downloads

Croatia

Member

Name
Ivan Kosalec
Affiliation
Faculty of Pharmacy and Biochemistry, University of Zagreb
Address
Schrottova 39, HR - 10000 Zagreb, CROATIA
Tel.
+385 1 4636 371
Fax.
+385 1 463 6371
Email
ikosalec@pharma.hr
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Darko Trumbetic
Affiliation
Agencija za Lijekove i Medicinske Proizvode
Address
Ksaverska cesta 4, 10000 Zagreb, CROATIA
Tel.
+38 51 4884368
Fax.
+385 1 4884110
Email
darko.trumbetic@halmed.hr
Downloads

Cyprus

Member

Name
Maria Stavrou
Affiliation
Ministry of Health
Address
Pharmaceutical Services, 1475 Nicosia, Cyprus
Tel.
+357 22 407176
Fax.
+357 22 305255
Email
mstavrou@phs.moh.gov.cy
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Eirini Perikleous
Affiliation
Ministry of Health
Address
Pharmaceutical Services, 1475 Nicosia, Cyprus
Tel.
+357 2240 7138
Email
ipericleous@phs.moh.gov.cy
Downloads

Czech Republic

Member

Name
Marie Heroutova
Affiliation
Státní ústav pro kontrolu léčiv
Address
Srobarova 48, 100 41 Prague, Czech Republic
Tel.
+420 2 72185839
Fax.
+420 272 739995
Email
marie.heroutova@sukl.cz
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Markéta Příhodová
Affiliation
Státní ústav pro kontrolu léčiv
Address
Srobarova 48, 100 41 Prague, Czech Republic
Tel.
+420 272 185907
Fax.
+420 2 67310104
Email
marketa.prihodova@sukl.cz
Downloads

Denmark

Member

Name
Steffen Bager
Affiliation
Danish Medicines Agency
Address
Axel Heides Gade 1, 2300 København S, Denmark
Tel.
+45 44 889316
Fax.
+45 44 917373
Email
sb@dkma.dk
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Nina Dürr
Affiliation
Danish Medicines Agency
Address
Axel Heides Gade 1, 2300 København S, Denmark
Tel.
+45 4488 9175
Fax.
+45 4488 9599
Email
ndk@dkma.dk
Downloads

Estonia

Member

Awaiting Nomination.

Alternate

Awaiting Nomination.

Finland

Member

Name
Eeva Sofia Leinonen
Affiliation
Lääkealan turvallisuus- ja kehittämiskeskus
Address
P.O.Box 55, Mannerheiminitie 103b, 00034 - Fimea Helsinki, Finland
Tel.
+358 29522 3379
Fax.
+358 9 714469
Email
eeva.s.leinonen@fimea.fi
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Sari Koski
Affiliation
Lääkealan turvallisuus- ja kehittämiskeskus
Address
P.O.Box 55, Mannerheiminitie 103b, 00034 - Fimea Helsinki, Finland
Tel.
+358 29522 3363
Fax.
+358 29522 3002
Email
sari.koski@fimea.fi
Downloads

France

Member

Name
An Le
Affiliation
Agence nationale de sécurité du médicament et des produits de santé
Address
143-147 Bvd Anatole France, 93285 Saint-Denis Cedex, France
Tel.
+33 1 55874141
Email
an.le@ansm.sante.fr
Downloads

Alternate

Awaiting Nomination.

Germany

Member

Name
Jacqueline Wiesner
Affiliation
Bundesinstitut für Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte
Address
Kurt-Georg-Kiesinger-Allee 3, 53175 Bonn, GERMANY
Tel.
+49 228 2075980
Fax.
+49 228 2075395
Email
jacqueline.wiesner@bfarm.de
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Birgit Merz
Affiliation
Bundesinstitut für Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte
Address
Kurt-Georg-Kiesinger-Allee 3, 53175 Bonn, GERMANY
Tel.
+49 228 2075324
Fax.
+49 228 2075395
Email
birgit.merz@bfarm.de
Downloads

Greece

Member

Name
Ioanna Chinou
Affiliation
University of Athens
Address
Panepistimiopolis, Zografou, 157 71 Athens, Greece
Tel.
+30210 7274 595
Fax.
+30210 7274 115
Email
ichinou@pharm.uoa.gr
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Zoi Karampourmpouni
Affiliation
National Organization for Medicines
Address
284 Mesogeion Avenue, Holargos, 15562 Athens, Greece
Tel.
+302 1 06507447
Fax.
+302 1 06547202
Email
zoekarab@eof.gr
Downloads

Hungary

Member

Name
Zsuzsanna Birone Dr Sandor
Affiliation
Országos Gyógyszerészeti és Élelmezés-egészségügyi Intézet
Address
Zrínyi U. 3, 1051 Budapest, Hungary
Tel.
+36 1 8869330
Fax.
+36 1 8869472
Email
biro-sandor.zsuzsa@ogyei.gov.hu
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Rita Nemeth
Affiliation
Országos Gyógyszerészeti és Élelmezés-egészségügyi Intézet
Address
Zrínyi U. 3, 1051 Budapest, Hungary
Tel.
+36 18 869300
Fax.
+36 18 869460
Email
nemeth.rita@ogyei.gov.hu
Downloads

Iceland

Member

Awaiting Nomination.

Alternate

Awaiting Nomination.

Ireland

Member

Name
Una Mockler
Affiliation
An tÚdarás Rialála Táirgí Sláinte
Address
Kevin O'Malley House, The Earlsfort Centre, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin, 2, Ireland
Tel.
+353 1 6764971
Fax.
+353 1 6768490
Email
una.mockler@hpra.ie
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Rachel Cox
Affiliation
An tÚdarás Rialála Táirgí Sláinte
Address
Kevin O'Malley House, The Earlsfort Centre, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin, 2, Ireland
Tel.
+353 1 6764971
Fax.
+353 1 6767836
Email
Rachel.cox@hpra.ie
Downloads

Italy

Member

Name
Alessandro Assisi
Affiliation
Agenzia Italiana del Farmaco
Address
Via del Tritone, 181, 00187, Roma, Italy
Tel.
+39 06 59784294
Fax.
+39 06 59784054
Email
a.assisi@aifa.gov.it
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Anna Maria Serrilli
Affiliation
Agenzia Italiana del Farmaco
Address
Via del Tritone, 181, 00187, Roma, Italy
Tel.
+39 6 59784245
Fax.
+39 06 59784054
Email
a.serrilli@aifa.gov.it
Downloads

Latvia

Member

Name
Evita Skukauska
Affiliation
Zāļu valsts aģentūra
Address
Jersikas iela 15, LV-1003 Riga, Latvia
Tel.
+371 670 78443
Fax.
+371 670 78428
Email
Evita.Skukauska@zva.gov.lv
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Baiba Jansone
Affiliation
Latvijas Universitāte
Address
19 Raina Blvd, LV 1586 Riga, Latvia
Tel.
+371 264 04309
Fax.
+371 673 66306
Email
baiba.jansone@lu.lv
Downloads

Lithuania

Member

Name
Rugile Pilviniene
Affiliation
Valstybinė vaistų kontrolės tarnyba prie Lietuvos Respublikos sveikatos apsaugos ministerijos
Address
Savanoriu, pr 220, LT-50148 Kaunas, LITHUANIA
Tel.
+370 3 7408407
Fax.
+370 3 7408407
Email
rugilepilviniene@vvkt.lt
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Audronis Lukosius
Affiliation
Drug Registration Commission State Medicines Control Agency in Lithuania
Address
Savanoriu ave. 220, 50196 Kaunas, LITHUANIA
Tel.
+370 68 634224
Email
AudronisLukosius@vvkt.lt
Downloads

Luxembourg

Member

Name
Marcel Bruch
Affiliation
Ministère de la Santé
Address
Villa Louvigny - 1er étage, Allée Marconi, 2120 Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Tel.
+352 2 478 5591
Fax.
+352 2 6200147
Email
Marcel.Bruch@ms.etat.lu
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Jacqueline Genoux-Hames
Affiliation
Ministère de la Santé
Address
Villa Louvigny - 1er étage, Allée Marconi, 2120 Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Tel.
+352 247 85593
Fax.
+352 247 95593
Email
jacqueline.genoux-hames@ms.etat.lu
Downloads

Malta

Member

Name
Everaldo Attard
Affiliation
University of Malta
Address
Institute of Agriculture, 2080 Msida MSD, Malta
Tel.
+356 23 402323
Fax.
+356 21 346519
Email
everaldo.attard@um.edu.mt
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Andre Mangani
Affiliation
Awtorità dwar il-Mediċini
Address
Sir Temi Zammit Buildings, Malta Life Sciences Park, SGN 3000 San Gwann, MALTA
Tel.
+356 23 439177
Fax.
+356 2343 9161
Email
andre.mangani@gov.mt
Downloads

Netherlands

Member

Name
Emiel Van Galen
Affiliation
College ter Beoordeling van Geneesmiddelen
Address
Graadt van Roggenweg 500, 3531 AH Utrecht, Netherlands
Tel.
+31 88 2248076
Fax.
+31 88 2248001
Email
e.v.galen@cbg-meb.nl
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Burt H Kroes
Affiliation
College ter Beoordeling van Geneesmiddelen
Address
Graadt van Roggenweg 500, 3531 AH Utrecht, Netherlands
Tel.
+31 88 2248153
Fax.
+31 88 2248001
Email
bh.kroes@cbg-meb.nl
Downloads

Norway

Member

Name
Steinar Madsen
Affiliation
Statens legemiddelverk
Address
Postbox 6167 , Etterstad, 0602 Oslo, Norway
Tel.
+47 22 897577
Fax.
+47 22 897799
Email
steinar.madsen@legemiddelverket.no
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Gro Fossum
Affiliation
Statens legemiddelverk
Address
Postbox 6167 , Etterstad, 0602 Oslo, Norway
Tel.
+47 22 897700
Fax.
+47 22 797799
Email
gro.fossum@legemiddelverket.no
Downloads

Poland

Member

Name
Wojciech Dymowski
Affiliation
Urząd Rejestracji Produktów Leczniczych, Wyrobow Medycznych i Produktów Biobójczych
Address
Al. Jerozolimskie 181C, 02-222 Warszawa, Poland
Tel.
+48 22 4921456
Fax.
+48 22 4921479
Email
wojciech.dymowski@urpl.gov.pl
Downloads

Alternate

Awaiting Nomination.

Portugal

Member

Name
Ana Paula Martins
Affiliation
INFARMED - Autoridade Nacional do Medicamento e Produtos de Saúde, I.P.
Address
Parque de Saúde de Lisboa, Avenida do Brasil, 53, 1749-004 Lisboa, Portugal
Tel.
+351 21 7987100
Fax.
+351 21 7987255
Email
anapaula.martins@infarmed.pt
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Eva Mendes
Affiliation
INFARMED - Autoridade Nacional do Medicamento e Produtos de Saúde, I.P.
Address
Parque de Saúde de Lisboa, Avenida do Brasil, 53, 1749-004 Lisboa, Portugal
Tel.
+351 21 7987197
Fax.
+351 21 7987255
Email
eva.mendes@infarmed.pt
Downloads

Romania

Member

Name
Carmen Purdel
Affiliation
Agentia Natională a Medicamentului şi a Dispozitivelor Medicale
Address
Str. Aviator Sănătescu 48, Sector 1, 011478 Bucharest, Romania
Tel.
+40 21 3161079
Fax.
+40 21 3163497
Email
carmen.purdel@anm.ro
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Raluca Iavorszky
Affiliation
Agentia Natională a Medicamentului şi a Dispozitivelor Medicale
Address
Str. Aviator Sănătescu 48, Sector 1, 011478 Bucharest, Romania
Tel.
+40 21 3171100
Fax.
+40 21 3163497
Email
raluca.iavorszky@anm.ro
Downloads

Slovakia

Member

Name
Miroslava Petrikova
Affiliation
Štátny ústav pre kontrolu liečiv
Address
Kvetná 11, 825 08 Bratislava 26, SLOVAKIA
Tel.
+421 250 701203
Email
miroslava.petrikova@sukl.sk
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Milan Nagy
Affiliation
Comenius University
Address
Odbojarov 10, 832 32 Bratislava, SLOVAKIA
Tel.
+421 2 50117201
Fax.
+421 2 50117100
Email
nagy@fpharm.uniba.sk
Downloads

Slovenia

Member

Name
Samo Kreft
Affiliation
Univerza v Ljubljani
Address
Askerceva 7, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia
Tel.
+386 1 47 69 582
Fax.
+386 1 42 58 031
Email
samo.kreft@ffa.uni-lj.si
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Barbara Razinger
Affiliation
Javna agencija Republike Slovenije za zdravila in medicinske pripomočke
Address
Slovenceva ulica 22, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia
Tel.
+386 1 4786249
Fax.
+386 1 4786260
Email
barbara.razinger@jazmp.si
Downloads

Spain

Member

Name
Adela Núñez Velázquez
Affiliation
Agencia Española de Medicamentos y Productos Sanitarios
Address
Parque Empresarial Las Mercedes , Edificio 8 , C/Campezo 1, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Tel.
+34 91 8225880
Fax.
+34 91 8225894
Email
anunez@aemps.es
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Cristina Martinez Garcia
Affiliation
Agencia Española de Medicamentos y Productos Sanitarios
Address
Parque Empresarial Las Mercedes , Edificio 8 , C/Campezo 1, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Tel.
+34 91 8225359
Fax.
+34 91 8225243
Email
cmartinezga@aemps.es
Downloads

Sweden

Member

Name
Per Claeson
Affiliation
Läkemedelsverket
Address
Dag Hammarskjölds väg 42, 75237 Uppsala, SWEDEN
Tel.
+46 18 174861
Fax.
+46 18 548566
Email
per.claeson@mpa.se
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Malin Söderberg
Affiliation
Läkemedelsverket
Address
Box 26, 751 03 Uppsala, SWEDEN
Tel.
+46 1 8174950
Fax.
+46 1 8548566
Email
malin.soderberg@mpa.se
Downloads

United Kingdom

Member

Name
Linda Anderson
Affiliation
Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency
Address
151 Buckingham Palace Road, Victoria, London, SW1W 9SZ, UNITED KINGDOM
Tel.
+44 20 30806370
Email
linda.anderson@mhra.gov.uk
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Sue Harris
Affiliation
Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency
Address
151 Buckingham Palace Road, Victoria, London, SW1W 9SZ, UNITED KINGDOM
Tel.
+44 20 30806335
Email
sue.harris@mhra.gov.uk
Downloads

Co-opted members (with indication of their specific area of competence)

Clinical pharmacology

Name
Gioacchino Calapai
Affiliation
University of Messina
Address
Torre Biologica 5 Piano, Via Consolare Valeria 6, 98125, Messina, Italy
Tel.
+39 9 0221 3646
Fax.
+39 90 2213300
Email
gioacchino.calapai@unime.it
Downloads

Toxicology

Name
Heidi Foth
Affiliation
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
Address
Franzosenweg 1a, 06097 Halle, Germany
Tel.
+49 345 5574023
Fax.
+49 345 5571871
Email
heidi.foth@uk-halle.de
Downloads

Paediatric medicine

Name
Silvia Girotto
Affiliation
ASL 12 - Regione Veneto
Address
Via San Dona 14/2, 30174, Venezia, Italy
Tel.
+39 04 1901379
Fax.
+39 04 1901379
Email
pls_Silvia.Girotto@aulss3.veneto.it
Downloads

Experimental/non-clinical pharmacology

Name
Gert Laekeman
Affiliation
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Address
Herestraat 49 , box 521, 3000 Leuven, Belgium
Tel.
+32 475 960121
Fax.
+32 16 323414
Email
gert.laekeman@kuleuven.be
Downloads

General and family medicine

Name
Maria Helena Pinto Ferreira
Affiliation
INFARMED - Autoridade Nacional do Medicamento e Produtos de Saúde, I.P.
Address
Parque de Saúde de Lisboa, Avenida do Brasil, 53, 1749-004 Lisboa, Portugal
Tel.
+351 21 7985266
Fax.
+351 21 7987255
Email
mhelena.ferreira@infarmed.pt
Downloads

Observers

Conseil de l'Europe

Member

Name
Ulrich Rose
Affiliation
Conseil de l'Europe
Address
EDQM & Healthcare, 7 Allée Kastner, CS 30026, F-67081 Strasbourg Cedex, France
Tel.
+33 3 88412197
Email
Ulrich.ROSE@edqm.eu
Downloads

Alternate

Name
Melanie Bald
Affiliation
Conseil de l'Europe
Address
EDQM & Healthcare, 7 Allée Kastner, CS 30026, F-67081 Strasbourg Cedex, France
Tel.
+33 3 90214138
Fax.
+33 3 88412771
Email
melanie.bald@edqm.eu
Downloads