Scientific Advice Working Party

  • Email
  • Help

The Scientific Advice Working Party (SAWP) is a standing working party with the sole remit of providing scientific advice and protocol assistance. It was established by the Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP).

The SAWP is a multidisciplinary group, which comprises a chairperson, 28 members including three members of the Committee for Orphan Medicinal Products (COMP), one member of the Paediatric Committee (PDCO) and one member of the Committee for Advanced Therapies (CAT).

In the nomination process of the working party's members, a fair representation of the following areas of expertise is ensured:

  • non-clinical safety;
  • pharmacokinetics;
  • methodology and statistics;
  • therapeutic fields for which there are frequent requests or which are defined in the Annex of Regulation (EC) No 726/2004, such as cardiology, oncology, diabetes, neurodegenerative disorders and infectious diseases including human-immunodeficiency-virus (HIV) infection.

The SAWP coordinates the provision of scientific advice and protocol assistance. It brings an integrated view forward to the CHMP and the COMP on:

  • quality relating to the development of medicinal products;
  • non-clinical and clinical safety and efficacy relating to the development of medicinal products;
  • the significant benefit of orphan medicinal products.

The SAWP meets 11 times a year at the European Medicines Agency for a three-to-four-day meeting, generally two weeks before the monthly CHMP plenary meeting:

Mandate, rules of procedure and work programme

More information on the SAWP's responsibilities and composition is available in this document:


Below are the current members and alternates of the SAWP. Their declarations of interests are available in the European expert list.


  • Angeles Alonso Garcia
  • Brigitte Bloechl-Daum
  • David Brown
  • Minne Casteels
  • Fernando de Andrés Trelles
  • Dieter Deforce
  • Pierre Demolis
  • Jens Ersbøll
  • Kolbeinn Gudmundsson
  • Robert James Hemmings (Chair)
  • Karl-Heinz Huemer
  • Bertil Jonsson (Vice-Chair)
  • Sheila Killalea
  • Armin Koch
  • Thomas Lang
  • Andrea Laslop
  • Armando Magrelli
  • Peter Mol
  • Jan Mueller-Berghaus
  • Johannes H. Ovelgönne
  • Ira Palminger Hallen
  • Luca Pani
  • Markku Pasanen
  • Mair Powell
  • Mario Miguel Rosa
  • Elmer Schabel
  • Olli Tenhunen
  • Ferran Torres
  • Kerstin Westermark
  • Kerstin Wickström


  • Caroline Auriche-Benichou
  • Norbert Benda
  • Carin Bergquist
  • Thalia Marie Blicher
  • André Elferink
  • Paolo Foggi
  • Blanca Garcia-Ochoa
  • Christian Gartner
  • Marion Haberkamp
  • Helgi Helgason
  • Walter Janssens
  • Peter Kiely
  • Andreas Kirisits
  • Juha Kolehmainen
  • Marleen Laloup
  • João Manuel Lopes de Oliveira
  • Valentina Mantua
  • Alexandre Moreau
  • Susan Morgan
  • Amany N. El-Gazayerly
  • Nithyanandan Nagercoil
  • Jens Reinhardt
  • Jan Sjöberg

Related information