Technical anonymisation group

  • Email
  • Help

The European Medicines Agency (EMA) has established an expert group in data anonymisation known as the technical anonymisation group (TAG) to help further develop best practices for the anonymisation of clinical reports, in the context of the Agency's policy on the publication of clinical data.

The group includes members from academia, industry, patients and healthcare professionals with expertise in areas such as data protection, developing standards and guidance for anonymisation and re-analysis of clinical data. EMA established the group following a public call for applications launched in March 2017. 

The group will consider experience to date with EMA's publication of clinical reports. In particular, it will assess: 

  • patient re-identification and any privacy risks in the light of new technological developments;
  • the scientific utility of the published clinical data as a function of the anonymisation methodology used;
  • whether it is possible to successfully conduct a secondary analysis of the anonymised clinical data.

More information on the TAG's responsibilities is available in this document:


The table below lists (in alphabetical order of surname) the current members of the TAG, together with their curriculum vitae and declaration of interests.

NameCurriculum vitae (CV)Declaration of interests (DoI)
Khaled El EmamKhaled El Emam CVKhaled El Emam DoI
Jean-Marc FerranJean-Marc Ferran CVJean-Marc Ferran DoI
Uwe FiedlerUwe Fiedler CVUwe Fiedler DoI
Christine FletcherChristine Fletcher CVChristine Fletcher DOI
Cathal GallagherCathal Gallagher CVCathal Gallagher DOI
Lukasz KniolaLukasz Kniola CVLukasz Kniola DOI
Bradley MalinBradley Malin CVBradley Malin DOI
Sarah NevittSarah Nevitt CVSarah Nevitt DOI
Nicola OrlandiNicola Orlandi CVNicola Orlandi DOI
Lee ParkerLee Parker CVLee Parker DOI
Frank RockholdFrank Rockhold CVFrank Rockhold DOI
Kristian SvendsenKristian Svendsen CVKristian Svendsen DOI
Rafal SwierzewskiRafal Swierzewski CVRafal Swierzewski DOI


The following individuals are aslo members of the TAG:

  • Monica Dias (chair, EMA)
  • Ada Adriano (EMA)
  • Anne-Sophie Henry-Eude (EMA)
  • Frank Pétavy (EMA)
  • Karen Quigley (EMA)
  • Alessandro Spina (EMA)
  • Giuseppe d'Acquisto (Italian data protection authority)
  • Dina Kampouraki (observer, European data protection supervisor)

How helpful is this page?

Average rating:

 Based on 50 ratings

Add your rating:

See all ratings
9 ratings
9 ratings
9 ratings
10 ratings
13 ratings

Tell us more

Related information