Pharmacovigilance Working Party

The Pharmacovigilance Working Party (PhVWP-V) provides advice to the Committee for Medicinal Products for Veterinary Use (CVMP) on the co-ordination and supervision of the pharmacovigilance of centrally authorised veterinary medicinal products, as well as of nationally authorised products or products authorised through the mutual-recognition procedure.

On request of the CVMP, the PhVWP-V prepares, revises and updates pharmacovigilance guidelines and provides recommendations on international agreements in the field of pharmacovigilance, particularly through the International Cooperation on Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Registration of Veterinary Medicinal Products (VICH).

Mandate, rules of procedure and work programme

More information on the PhVWP-V's responsibilities and composition is available in these documents:


The PhVWP-V is composed of European experts selected according to their specific expertise. It includes a chair and one member nominated by each European Union Member State, plus three observers, one nominated each by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

The following areas of expertise are needed in the Working Party:

  • experience with a national pharmacovigilance system, either through a national regulatory authority or a university;
  • practical veterinary experience;
  • epidemiology;
  • pharmacoepidemiology;
  • pharmacology;
  • toxicology;
  • knowledge of regulatory requirements and management of procedures.


Below (in alphabetical order of surname) are the current members of the PhVWP-V. The members' declarations of interests are available in the European expert list.


  • Brigitte Batliner
  • Elisabeth Begon (Vice-Chair)
  • Hanne Bergendahl
  • Anita Bottger
  • Svetoslav Valentinov Branchev
  • Liene Burkāne
  • Ramiro Casimiro
  • Sandra De Boever
  • Els Dewaele (Chair)
  • Gillian Diesel
  • Tatiana Holková
  • Jonna Kumpulainen
  • Niels Christian Kyvsgaard
  • Constance McDaniel
  • Alia Michaelidou-Patsia
  • Daniela Motiu
  • Edit Nagy
  • Hrvoje Pavasovic
  • Vivika Peets
  • Rita Quondam Giandomenico
  • Henrique Ramos da Costa
  • Agnieszka Rogowska-Jaśkowiak
  • Bernard Soler
  • Susanne Stenlund
  • Katarina Straus
  • Marketa Vankova
  • Lisa Woods