Scientific Advice Working Party

The Scientific Advice Working Party (SAWP-V) was set up to provide recommendations to the Committee for Medicinal Products for Veterinary Use (CVMP) on all matters relating directly or indirectly to veterinary medicinal products.

These recommendations are given in specific areas, such as the establishment of maximum residue limits (MRLs) for veterinary medicinal products destined for use in food-producing animals, as well as in more general areas relating to veterinary medicines, including the provision of scientific advice relating to marketing authorisation applications concerning products for minor uses and minor species (MUMS).

Mandate, rules of procedure and work programme

Further information on the SAWP-V's responsibilities and composition is available in these documents:


The SAWP-V is composed of representatives of the CVMP with an appropriate scientific background.

When required, additional European experts identified by the CVMP on the basis of their specific scientific expertise or regulatory experience may also be appointed to participate in the work of the SAWP-V. Observers from non-European Economic Area countries can also participate with the agreement of the chair and the Agency.


Below (in alphabetical order of surname) are the current members of the SAWP-V. The members' declarations of interests are available in the European expert list.


  • Keith Baptiste
  • Jeremiah Gabriel Beechinor
  • Rory Breathnach
  • Anke Finnah
  • Gesine Hahn
  • Frida Hasslung Wikström (Chair)
  • Frédéric Klein
  • Sylvie Louet (Vice-Chair)
  • Cristina Muñoz Madero
  • Leona Nepejchalová
  • Jacqueline Poot
  • Jean-Claude Rouby
  • Wilhelm Schlumbohm
  • Bruno Urbain
  • Esther Werner