

26 May 2011 EMA/MB/417000/2011 Adopted

Minutes of the 71st extraordinary meeting of the Management Board

Held in London on 5 May 2011

This extraordinary meeting of the Management Board was held to consider the shortlist submitted by the European Commission of candidates for the position of Executive Director.

1. Draft agenda for 5 May 2011 meeting

[EMA/MB/296221/2011] The agenda was adopted with no additional business.

No interests were declared in relation to items on the agenda.

2. Revised procedure for appointment of the Executive Director

[EMA/MB/400828/2009 Rev.1] The Board adopted the revised procedure, with no comments or additional issues raised.

3. Outline of the day's proceedings

The Vice-Chair outlined orally the running order of the day's proceedings. No comments were raised by members.

4. Preparation for written procedure for formal appointment of the Executive Director

The Acting Executive Director outlined the steps for the formal appointments following selection of a successful candidate by the Board. The formal appointment takes place after the hearing before the European Parliament and the Board noted that a written procedure will be launched with the Board once this has taken place.

5. Announcement of proxy votes

The Vice-Chair announced the following proxy votes:



- Aginus Kalis (Netherlands): Henk Vaarkamp and Lisette Tiddens (health care professional representatives)
- Panayiota Kokkinou (Cyprus): Ioannis Tountas (Greece)

6. Appointment of tellers

The Board appointed Brigitte Batliner and Gro Ramsten Wesenberg, Observers from Liechtenstein and Norway, to act as tellers.

7. Presentation of the candidates

The Vice-Chair announced the following candidates on the shortlist presented by the European Commission:



8. Report from the MB observer to the Commission preselection panel

Kent Woods, appointed in October 2009 as the Board's observer in the pre-selection procedure, gave an overview of the selection procedure and concluded that it had been thorough and correct.

Some Board members regretted that the individual reports from the assessment centre were not available to the Board, and requested that the Board be given the opportunity to provide comments to the European Commission on lessons learned from the overall selection procedure.

9. Interviews

The Management Board heard each candidate in alphabetical order, in accordance with the agreed procedure.

Each candidate was asked to give a 10-minutes presentation on the same topic, and subsequently asked the same set of opening questions by Board members.

10. Voting on the candidates

The Management Board did not reach a decision at the meeting. The Board decided unanimously to meet again in June 2011 to vote on the full shortlist of candidates.

List of participants

Chair: Elizabeth Tiddens

	Members	Alternates (and other participants)
Belgium	Xavier De Cuyper	
Bulgaria	Alexader Yankov	
Czech Republic	Jiří Deml	
Denmark	Jytte Lyngvig	
Germany		Klaus Cichutek
Estonia	Kristin Raudsepp	
Ireland		Rita Purcell
Greece	Apology received	
Spain	Belén Crespo Sánchez-Eznarriaga	
France	Dominique Maraninchi	
Italy		Silvia Fabiani
Cyprus	Panayiota Kokkinou	
Latvia	Inguna Adoviĉa	
Lithuania	Gintautas Barcys	
Luxembourg	Claude A Hemmer	
Hungary	Tamás L Paál	
Malta	Patricia Vella Bonanno	
The Netherlands	Aginus Kalis	
Austria	Marcus Müllner	
Poland	Grzegorz Cessak	
Portugal	Jorge Torgal	
Romania	Daniel Boda	
Slovakia	Jan Mazag	
Slovenia	Martina Cvelbar	
Finland		Pekka Kurki
Sweden		Johan Lindberg
United Kingdom	Kent Woods	
European Parliament	Giuseppe Nisticó	
	Björn Lemmer	
European Commission	Paola Testori Coggi	
	Pedro Ortun Silvan	
Representatives of	Mary G. Baker	
patients' organisations	Mike O'Donovan	
Representative of	Elizabeth Tiddens	
healthcare professionals'		
organisations		
Representative of	Apology received (Henk	
veterinarians'	Vaarkamp)	
organisations		

	Members	Alternates (and other participants)
Observers	Apology received (Iceland)	
	Brigitte Batliner (Liechtenstein)	
	Gro Ramsten Wesenberg	
	(Norway)	

European Medicines Agency attendees:

Andreas Pott

Patrick Le Courtois

David Mackay

Hans-Georg Wagner

Noël Wathion

Martin Harvey Allchurch

Vincenzo Salvatore

Zuzana O'Callaghan