Safety Working Party

The Safety Working Party (SWP) provides recommendations to the Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP) on all matters relating directly or indirectly to non-clinical aspects of safety. Its work includes:

Mandate, rules of procedure and work programme

More information on the SWP's responsibilities and composition is available in these documents:

EMA has temporarily suspended or scaled back certain activities since 2019 based on EMA’s business continuity plan.


The SWP is composed of one expert per Member State, selected from the list of European experts and nominated by members of the CHMP. Additional experts and observers may also be invited to participate in the work of the SWP.


Below (in alphabetical order of surname) are the current members of the SWP. The members' declarations of interests are available in the European expert list.


  • Carl Henrik Alm
  • Mikael Andersson
  • Louise Frederikke Swaffield Bang-Lauritsen
  • Sonja Beken
  • Maria Isabel Borba Vieira
  • Georgia Bouziou
  • Susanne Brendler-Schwaab (Vice-Chair)
  • Michal Czarnogórski
  • Maria Grazia Evandri
  • Ana Claudia Figueiredo
  • Belen Gracia Moneva
  • Eadaoin Griffin
  • Agnes Gyurasics
  • Anti Kalda
  • Maria Kovacova
  • Gaja Lesnicar Pucko
  • Dominique Masset
  • Jasenka Mrsic Pelcic
  • Laila Sortvik Nilssen
  • Markku Pasanen
  • Panagiotis Psaras
  • Violeta Tamasdan
  • Leon van Aerts
  • Jan Willem van der Laan (Chair)
  • Günter Waxenecker