Safety Working Party

The Safety Working Party (SWP-V) provides scientific expertise to the Committee for Medicinal Products for Veterinary Use (CVMP) on all issues regarding the safety of veterinary medicinal products in the context of consumer and operator safety, except for environmental-risk assessment and target-animal safety. This includes providing expertise on the establishment of maximum residue limits (MRLs) and on the preparation of guidelines relating to the safety of veterinary medicinal products and to user safety.

Mandate, rules of procedure and work programme

More information on the SWP-V's responsibilities and composition is available in these documents:


The SWP-V is composed of one representative from each Member State. Each member has expertise in the field of safety of veterinary medicines, specifically:

  • MRLs, including safety and residues;
  • assessment of safety of marketing authorisations of veterinary medicinal products;
  • toxicology;
  • pharmacology;
  • safety of use of veterinary medicinal products;
  • analytical methods concerning residues.


Below (in alphabetical order of surname) are the current members of the SWP-V. The members' declarations of interests are available in the European expert list.


  • Eftychia Aravidou
  • Philippe Delahaut
  • Maria Dominguez Nicolas
  • Catarina Eriksson
  • Anke Finnah
  • Anne-Marie Jacques
  • Nikola Lange
  • Anne Malene Nissen
  • Eva Pomezna
  • Gavin Ryan
  • Stefan Scheid (Chair)
  • Sandra ten Voorde
  • Roberto Villa