Committee for Orphan Medicinal Products (COMP) elects new chair

News 13/09/2018

Dr Stoyanova-BeninskaThe European Medicines Agency's (EMA) Committee for Orphan Medicinal Products (COMP) has elected Dr Violeta Stoyanova-Beninska as its new chair for a three-year mandate. She follows Professor Bruno Sepodes who served as COMP chair for two three-year terms, the maximum number allowed.

Dr Stoyanova-Beninska has been working since 2007 at the Dutch national competent authority, the Medicines Evaluation Board (MEB), as a senior clinical assessor. She has strong expertise in neurology, psychiatry, and ophthalmological, dermatological and pain management.

She has been involved in EMA activities since 2009, first in the Scientific Advice Working Party (SAWP) and since 2012 as a member of the COMP.

“I cherish the unique responsibility the COMP has in the interest of patients suffering from rare diseases. Building on what has been achieved over the past 18 years since the COMP was established, I will work closely with all committee members and experts, building on the high professionalism and the collaborative spirit in the committee,” said Violeta Stoyanova-Beninska. “Orphan medicines have their specific challenges which we shall tackle involving all stakeholders. As chair, I would like to contribute to reinforcing the COMP's interaction and communication with other scientific committees at EMA and also with international partners.”

EMA would like to thank Professor Bruno Sepodes for the dedication and knowledge that he has put at service to the COMP over the past six years.

The COMP is responsible for evaluating applications for orphan designation. This designation is for medicines to be developed for the diagnosis, prevention or treatment of rare diseases that are life-threatening or very serious. It gives access to incentives offered by the European Union to encourage companies to research and develop medicines for rare diseases that otherwise would not be developed.

How useful was this page?

Add your rating