Healthcare Professionals' Working Party

The Healthcare Professionals' Working Party (HCPWP) provides a platform for exchange of information and discussion of issues of common interest between the European Medicines Agency and healthcare professionals.

The HCPWP, established in 2013, has enabled the Agency to build upon its existing interactions with healthcare professionals. It provides recommendations to the EMA and its human scientific committees on all matters of interest in relation to medicines.

The following documents provide information on the HCPWP's responsibilities and composition:

The Healthcare Professionals' Working Party (HCPWP)


The HCPWP consists of:

The members' declarations of interests are available in the European experts list.


EMAJuan Garcia Burgos
European Hematology Association (EHA)Ulrich Jäger


Organisation representative members

Member organisationRepresentative(s)
European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (EAACI)

Stefano del Giacco

Ioana Agache

European Academy of Neurology (EAN)

Marianne de Visser

Paul Boon

Fior Dafin Muresanu

European Academy of Paediatrics (EAP)

Adamos Hadjipanayis

Ann De Guchtenaere

European Association for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (EACPT)

Donald Singer

Arantxa Sancho Lopes

European Association of Hospital Pharmacists (EAHP)

Joan Peppard

Robert Moss

Stephanie Kohl

European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD)

Ingo Rustenbeck

Sigurd Lenzen

European Association of Urology (EAU)

Jens Sønksen

European Federation of Internal Medicine (EFIM)

Daniel Sereni

Gualberto Gussoni

European Forum for Primary Care (EFPC)Walter Marrocco
Pieter van den Hombergh
European Geriatric Medicine Society (EUGMS)

Michael Denkinger

Wilma Knol

European Hematology Association (EHA)

Ulrich Jaeger

Anton Hagenbeek

European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR)

Margreet Kloppenburg

Joost Swart

European Respiratory Society (ERS)

Anita Simonds

Brian Ward 

European Society of Cardiology (ESC)

Giuseppe Rosano

Martin Landray

European Society of Endocrinology (ESE)Manuel Puig Domingo
European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO)

Elisabeth de Vries

Rosa Giuliani

European Society of Radiology (ESR)

Olivier Clement

Adrian Brady

European Specialist Nurses Organisations (ESNO)

Adriano Friganovic

Ber Oomen

European Union of General Practitioners (UEMO)

Tiago Villanueva

Mary McCarthy

Pharmaceutical Group of the European Union (PGEU)

Jan De Belie

Ilaria Passarani

Standing Committee of European Doctors (CPME)

Erzsebet Podmaniczky

Christiaan Keijzer

United European Gastroenterology (UEG)

Aleksander Krag

Tibor Hlavaty


Members representing EMA scientific committees

EMA Scientific Committee Representative(s)
Committee for Advanced Therapies

Bernd Gansbacher

Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use

Fatima Ventura

Maria Conception Prieto Yerro

Committee for Orphan Medicinal ProductsDinah Duarte
Committee for Herbal Medicinal Products

Steffen Bager

Gert Laekeman 

An Le

Paediatric Committee

Johannes Taminiau

Dimitrios Athanasiou 

Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee

Raymond Anderson



EMA Management BoardWolf-Dieter Ludwig
Patients' and Consumers' Working Party

(To be advised)

European Commission (DG SANTE)Rotating membership
Coordination Group for Mutual Recognition and Decentralised Procedures - Human (CMDh)Gabriele Eibenstein


How useful was this page?

Add your rating