Patients' and Consumers' Working Party

Table of contents

The Patients' and Consumers' Working Party (PCWP) provides a platform for exchange of information and discussion of issues of common interest between EMA and patients and consumers.

The PCWP, established in 2006, has enabled the Agency to build upon its existing interactions with patients and consumers. It provides recommendations to EMA and its human scientific committees on all matters of interest in relation to medicines.

The following documents provide information on the PCWP's responsibilities and composition:

The Patients' and Consumers' Working Party (PCWP)


For information on upcoming and past meetings of the PCWP, including meeting materials, see:


The PCWP consists of:

The members' declarations of interests are available in the European experts list.


EMAJuan Garcia Burgos
European Patients' Forum (EPF)Kaisa Immonen


Organisation representative members

Member organisationRepresentative(s)
AGE Platform Europe (AGE)

Barbro Westerholm
Julia Wadoux

Alzheimer Europe (AE)

Jean Georges
Cindy Birck

European AIDS Treatment Group (EATG)

Giulio Maria Corbelli
Nikos Dedes

European Cancer Patient Coalition (ECPC)

Aikaterini Apostolidou
Rafal Swierzewski

European Consumers' Organisation (BEUC) Santos
Jelena Malinina 

European Federation of Allergy and Airways Diseases Patients' Associations (EFA)

Erna Botjes
Isabel Proaño

European Federation of Neurological Associations (EFNA)

Joke Jaarsma

European Heart Network (EHN)


Marilena Vrana
Christine Dehn

European Institute of Women's Health (EIWH)

Hildrun Sundseth
Margaret Maguire

European Liver Patient Association (ELPA)

Marko Korenjak
Teresa Casanovas Travull

European Multiple Sclerosis Platform (EMSP)

Elisabeth Kasilingam

European Organisation for Rare Diseases (EURORDIS)

Francois Houyez
Russell Wheeler

European Patients' Forum (EPF)

Michal Rataj
Marco Greco

European Prostate Cancer Coalition (EUomo)

André Deschamps
Will Janssen

European Public Health Alliance (EPHA)

Sascha Marschang

Global Alliance for Mental Illness Advocacy Networks (GAMIAN-Europe)Jacinta Hastings
Health Action International Europe (HAI)

Ellie White
Courtney Davis

International Diabetes Federation European Region (IDF Europe)

Joao Manuel Valente Nabais
Iryna Vlasenko

International Patient Organisation for Primary Immunodeficiencies (IPOPI)

Jose Drabwell
Leire Solis Garate

Myeloma Patients Europe (MPE)

Ananda Plate
Hans Scheurer

Thalassaemia International Federation (TIF)

Michael Michael
Lily Cannon

World Duchenne Organization (UPPMD)

Elizabeth Vroom
Sally Hofmeister


Members representing EMA's scientific committees

Scientific CommitteeRepresentative(s)
Committee for Advanced Therapies

Kieran Breen
Roland Pochet

Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use

Concepción Prieto Yerro
Fàtima Ventura

Committee for Orphan Medicinal ProductsTim Leest
Committee on Herbal Medicinal Products

Steffen Bager
Gert Laekeman
An Le

Paediatric Committee

Dimitrios Athanasiou
Johannes Taminiau

Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee

Virginie Hivert



Observer affiliationRepresentative(s)

EMA Management Board

Marco Greco
Ioannis Natsis


Healthcare Professionals Working PartyJan de Belie
European Commission (DG SANTE)Rotating membership
Coordination Group for Mutual Recognition and Decentralised Procedures - Human (CMDh)Gabriele Eibenstein

How useful was this page?

Add your rating
1 rating
2 ratings
2 ratings