Scientific Advice Working Party

The Scientific Advice Working Party (SAWP) is a standing working party with the sole remit of providing scientific advice and protocol assistance. It was established by the Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP).

The SAWP is a multidisciplinary group, which comprises a chairperson, 36 members including three members of the Committee for Orphan Medicinal Products (COMP), three members of the Paediatric Committee (PDCO), three members of the Committee for Advanced Therapies (CAT) and one member of the Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee (PRAC).

In the nomination process of the working party's members, a fair representation of the following areas of expertise is ensured:

  • non-clinical safety;
  • pharmacokinetics;
  • methodology and statistics;
  • therapeutic fields for which there are frequent requests or which are defined in the Annex of Regulation (EC) No 726/2004, such as cardiology, oncology, diabetes, neurodegenerative disorders and infectious diseases including human-immunodeficiency-virus (HIV) infection.

The SAWP coordinates the provision of scientific advice and protocol assistance. It brings an integrated view forward to the CHMP and the COMP on:

The SAWP meets 11 times a year at the European Medicines Agency for a three-to-four-day meeting, generally two weeks before the monthly CHMP plenary meeting:

Mandate, rules of procedure and work programme

More information on the SAWP's responsibilities and composition is available in this document:


Below are the current members and alternates of the SAWP. Their declarations of interests are available in the European expert list.



  • Ewa Balkowiec Iskra
  • Carin Bergquist
  • Ole Weis Bjerrum
  • Minne Casteels
  • Mario Miguel Coelho da Silva Rosa
  • Fernando de Andrés Trelles
  • Dieter Deforce
  • Pierre Demolis
  • Paolo Foggi
  • Sara Galluzzo
  • Kolbeinn Gudmundsson
  • Karl-Heinz Huemer
  • Brigitte Keller-Stanislawski
  • Sheila Killalea
  • Andreas Kirisits
  • Rune Kjeken
  • Armin Koch
  • Andrea Laslop
  • Romaldas Mačiulaitis
  • Peter Mol
  • Alexandre Moreau
  • Johannes Hendrikus Ovelgonne
  • Markku Pasanen
  • Karri Penttila
  • Mair Powell
  • Livia Puljak
  • Jens Reinhardt
  • Elmer Schabel
  • Anja Schiel (Chair)
  • Brigitte Schwarzer-Daum
  • Aaron Emmanuel Sosa Mejia
  • Olli Tenhunen
  • Ferran Torres
  • Anna Vikerfors
  • Kristian Wennmalm
  • Kerstin Wickström
  • Joerg Zinserling


  • Silvijus Abramavicius
  • Adriana Andrić
  • Dina Apele-Freimane
  • Caroline Auriche-Benichou
  • Nicolas Beix
  • André Elferink
  • Hrefna Gudmundsdottir
  • Marion Haberkamp
  • Larissa Higgins
  • Walter Janssens
  • Karin Janssen van Doorn
  • Juha Kolehmainen
  • Johanna Lähteenvuo
  • Finbarr Leacy
  • Stephan Lehr
  • Anders Lignell
  • João Manuel Lopes de Oliveira
  • Armando Magrelli
  • Serena Marchetti
  • Cristina Migali
  • Clemens Mittmann
  • Jan Mueller-Berghaus
  • Flora Musuamba Tshinanu
  • Robert Nistico
  • Maura O'Donovan
  • Elina Rönnemaa
  • Rosalía Ruano Camps
  • Ingrid Schellens
  • Jan Sjöberg
  • Audrey Sultana
  • Linda Trauffler
  • Johanna Wernsperger
  • Mogens Westergaard
  • Elena Wolff-Holz