Chair of EMA's committee for orphan medicines receives award for outstanding patient engagement

News 15/01/2018

Bruno SeporesBruno Sepodes, winner of EURORDIS Black Pearl Award 2018

Bruno Sepodes, Chair of the European Medicines Agency's (EMA) Committee for Orphan Medicinal Products (COMP), has received the EURORDIS European Rare Disease Leadership Award as recognition of his commitment to involve patient advocates in all discussions and decisions related to orphan medicines.

The EURORDIS Black Pearl Awards acknowledge the outstanding achievements and exceptional work of people making a difference for the rare disease community. The award ceremony will take place in Brussels on Rare Disease Day, 28 February 2018.

Bruno Sepodes is professor of Pharmacology and Pharmacotherapy at the Faculty of Pharmacy of the University of Lisbon. He is also a member of EMA's Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP) and Committee for Advanced Therapies (CAT).

EURORDIS-Rare Diseases Europe is a non-profit alliance of over 700 patient organisations from more than 60 countries that work together to improve the lives of the 30 million people living with a rare disease in Europe.

How useful was this page?

Add your rating