Codex Alimentarius

The European Medicines Agency (EMA) contributes to the Codex Alimentarius, a set of international standards for food and agricultural products maintained by the Codex Alimentarius Commission of the United Nations (UN). The purpose of these standards is to support fair trade and consumer protection internationally.

The Codex Alimentarius is a central part of the Food Standards Programme of the UN's Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and the World Health Organization (WHO).

All European Union (EU) Member States are members of the Codex Alimentarius Commission.

The EU, represented by the European Commission, is also a member since 2003. The European Commission shares competence with the Member States and represents all EU countries on matters of EU competence.

For a list of members, see Codex Alimentarius: Codex members and observers.

EMA role

EMA contributes to the development and maintenance of Codex Alimentarius by:

How useful was this page?

Add your rating
1 rating
1 rating