EU Member States

The European Medicines Agency (EMA) works closely with the human and veterinary medicines regulatory authorities of the Member States of the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA).

The medicines regulatory authorities of the Member States, or 'national competent authorities', are responsible for the authorisation of medicines available in the EU that do not pass though the centralised procedure.

They also supply thousands of European experts who serve as members of the Agency's scientific committees, working parties or in assessment teams supporting their members.

This unique collaborative model, knows as the European medicines regulatory network, enables Member States to pool resources and coordinate work to regulate medicines efficiently and effectively.

The Member States are also represented in EMA's Management Board.

More information

How useful was this page?

Add your rating
4 ratings
1 rating
1 rating
3 ratings
26 ratings